Home » Business » Project Management

Various Levels Of Six Sigma Training and Certification

Aug 20, 2008
The implementation of a Six Sigma project requires the services of professionals who are well trained in using the various tools and techniques of Six Sigma. Such professionals have to undertake a certification program or training on the various Six Sigma measurement tools and techniques they can bring into practice.

Six Sigma certification is similar to other certification programs, and a certified professional is capable of utilizing their knowledge to the benefit of the organization. There are various levels of certification that can be achieved after the appropriate tests are passed.

These levels are named in the same manner as martial arts grades; Green Belts, the Black Belts and Master Black Belts.

The Green Belt

This is the basic level that is completed when an individual completes two weeks of training and passes the qualifying exam. All the basic essential methodologies are taught in this level, such as DMAIC and its overall usage.

Green Belt training also covers project management, quality management tools and quality control tools. It also trains students on problem solving and data analysis methods.

Green Belts are also trained in implementing deployment plans and ways to sustain the new changes that have been introduced.

The Black Belt

Black Belt certification is given to a technically-oriented professional who completes four weeks, or around 160 hours of training and passes the appropriate test. This curriculum covers Green Belt certification curriculum as well. Black Belts generally have a background in college level mathematics, which is relevant for quantitative analysis in various phases of Six Sigma projects.

They are also proficient in using software tools, spreadsheets, databases, presentation software and so on. They may also be trained in the usage of statistical analysis software and simulation tools. These individuals also undertake project work and usually train other Six Sigma trainees and Green Belts.

Black Belts develop their skills in cross-functional Six Sigma project implementation. They then move on to undertake the role and responsibility of Six Sigma team lead.

The Master Black Belt

This is the highest level of organizational proficiency. Master Black Belts are those individuals who undertake the four weeks training and implement it as program managers. They have all the knowledge and training that Black Belts have - and even more skills to understand the mathematical theory of the various statistical tools in use.

They may also be proficient in project management, imparting training, program organization and so on. They should have the ability to guide the Black Belts in applying the various techniques correctly in critical areas. They should have good communication and training skills, as they are generally responsible for imparting training on the various statistical tools and techniques to the Black Belts and Green Belts.

They should assist others in achieving their certifications, thus reducing the extra cost of training these individuals.

Not all certified professionals have the same levels of competencies for undertaking the implementation of Six Sigma projects. By training for various levels, individuals can develop their competencies and become important participants of the various levels of Six Sigma project implementation.
About the Author
Tony Jacowski is a quality analyst for The MBA Journal. Aveta Solution's Six Sigma Online offers online six sigma training and certification classes for six sigma professionals including, lean six sigma, black belts, green belts, and yellow belts.
Please Rate:
(Average: Not rated)
Views: 235
Print Email Share
Article Categories